The Arizona Free Enterprise Club urges that the House of Representatives vote NO on SB 1484, tax credit legislation that will provide millions in special tax breaks to corporations that generate renewable energy for manufacturing. In fact, it has been an open secret at the legislature that only 2 companies (at most) will benefit from the tax credits being provided in SB 1484. This is crony capitalist special legislation and a raw deal for taxpayers.

If the tax policy wasn’t bad enough, the purpose clause provided in the bill should give legislators pause as well. In the actual text of SB 1484, it declares that the credits are needed to incentivize companies in Arizona to “reduce their carbon footprint.” Tax credits to fight global warming?? There couldn’t be a more wasteful use of taxpayer money than to provide special tax breaks to two companies that will have virtually no impact on carbon emissions. We should not be picking winners and losers, especially when it is for a questionable environmental agenda.

The Club urges a NO vote on SB 1484.

A few years ago, a group of smart entrepreneurs and innovators came up with a revolutionary idea on providing an alternative transportation service to the traditional cab company—‘Ridesharing’. With ridesharing, private drivers have the freedom to provide rides wherever and whenever they want, while consumers have the luxury to explore the new service and compare the cost to taking a traditional cab.

This new service was an instant hit, with both drivers and consumers being able to enjoy a better (and often cheaper) transportation option than what was available. Two companies that have been leading the rideshare revolution, uberX and Lyft, have taken this model worldwide, expanding to over 40 U.S. markets and providing thousands of rides each year.

Normally this type of innovation is a cause for celebration, but instead the entire business model is in jeopardy. Fearing the competition, the entrenched taxi cab industry has been working tirelessly to shut ridesharing down. They are trying to shut the service down in New York City and San Francisco, and they were successful in stopping ridesharing in Seattle.  Now they are trying to do the same in Arizona.

That is why the Free Enterprise Club is supporting HB 2262, legislation that will allow for ridesharing to continue in Arizona.  HB 2262 sets up the regulatory structure to gurantee that ridesharing will continue in Arizona. The cab companies know this, and that is why they are pulling out all the stops to kill the bill (and with it, their competition).

The Free Enterprise Club urges the legislature embrace innovation and support HB 2262.

The Arizona Free Enterprise Club PAC today has announced its first endorsement for the 2014 election: Doug Ducey for Governor.  Ducey is currently Arizona’s State Treasurer and is in a hotly contested primary election.

“With his strong business background and proven track record on economic issues, there is no question that Doug Ducey is the best choice as Arizona’s next governor,” Executive Director Scot Mussi said.  “Ducey is a committed free market fiscal conservative who won’t shy away from making tough decisions or taking on big challenges.”

Among his many achievements, Ducey made his mark when he led the charge to stop the permanent billion dollar tax increase in 2012. “Ducey’s effort to defeat Proposition 204 and the billion dollar tax hike showed taxpayers and businesses that he is looking out for them,” Mussi Continued.  “His leadership is what we need to craft free market, pro-growth oriented policies that make Arizona a great place to work and live.”

While other candidates for Governor will try to claim the mantle as the ‘pro-business’ candidate, Doug Ducey is the only one with the experience and knowledge to take Arizona to the next level. “Ducey understands that the secret to economic growth and prosperity is not higher taxes or government picking winners and losers, but making sure Arizona has the best business climate in the Southwest.” Mussi said.

Latest Tweets

The Arizona Free Enterprise Club is a free market policy and lobbying group dedicated to promoting a strong and vibrant Arizona economy.
  • @GovBrewer signed HB 2377, legislation indexing AZ income tax brackets to inflation. Thanks to Rep. Olson for stopping this hidden tax hike
  • @azfec joined by the @Goldwaterinst and Rep. Darin Mitchell to push for government transparency and accountability
  • AZFEC successful in stopping bill to create taxpayer funded lobbyist for the movie industry: via @AzCapitolTimes
  • How was this $200M light rail extension/boondoggle funded? By taking grant money from much needed roadway projects
  • Fiscal responsibility by Mayor Scott Smith in action--Pushing to spend $200 million on a 3 mile light rail extension